Writing a check when you don’t have the funds in your account to cover it is a criminal offense in Nevada. You can face serious charges if you don’t resolve the issue in a timely manner. Whether you actually intended to defraud anyone when you wrote the check is irrelevant to law enforcement. Although the law is intended to punish people who knowingly violate the statute, the police and district attorney will assume that you acted in bad faith.
You are subject to criminal prosecution if you wrote a bad check to obtain:
- Casino markers.
- The use or delivery of property
PENALTIES FOR WRITING A BAD CHECK
The penalties are based upon the amount of the check and your previous criminal history.
Less Than $250
You are subject to misdemeanor charges if the amount of the check is less than $250. It is punishable by six months in jail, fines up to $1,000 and restitution to the check holder. Nevada classifies the offense as a Class D felony if you have three prior convictions. The penalties for a Class D felony are up to four years in prison and fines up to $5,000.
More Than $250
If the check exceeds $250, the offense is classified as a Class D felony.
EXPERIENCED LEGAL COUNSEL
A simple mistake shouldn’t ruin your future. If you are facing bad check charges, give us a call. You need an accomplished Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer to evaluate the facts in your case. We will determine the best course of action and aggressively defend your rights. The Potter Law Firm is committed to obtaining the best possible outcome.