Archived

We Keep Things Organized

  • Possible Consequences for Shoplifting in Nevada  Shoplifting is typically thought of as the wrongful taking of merchandise from a retailer. However, Section 597.860 of the Nevada Revised Statute describes it as also happening whenever an adult damages property on a merchant’s premises, and allows for civil damages in addition to criminal charges in that instance. Merchants who believe merchandise has been wrongfully taken may detain suspects pursuant to calling the police. Finding unpaid for merchandise is not enough to bring charges, as the suspect must have intentionally stolen items in order to qualify. An honest mistake in forgetting to pay for something does not constitute an illegal act under Nevada law. If the amount of property in question is $650

    Aug 29,
  • Nevada Shoplifting Penalties  Nevada courts have a history of regarding the violation of shoplifting laws under NRS 205.220 and NRS 205.240 very seriously. If you've been charged with violating Nevada's shoplifting laws, you should take it seriously too. Individuals accused of shoplifting goods worth less than $650 may be charged with a misdemeanor that is punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and as many as six months in jail. They may also be required to pay restitution to the store owner. Someone accused of stealing items worth more than $650 but less than $3,500 may find themselves charged with a Category C felony. A potential prison term could be as long as five years. Fines may add up to

    Jul 07,

Las Vegas, NV 89102-2314
1125 Shadow Lane Suite 100

Phone: 702-997-1774
Fax: 702-385-9081