Blog

Reckless Driving Info in Nevada

Apr 28, 2014

car-crashWhat you need to Know about Nevada Reckless Driving Laws

Reckless driving is something that many people do without even thinking about the ramifications of it. In Nevada, the law considers anyone who drives with “willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property” commits a reckless driving offense. Reckless driving can encompass a number of things, a few of which include:

  • Excessive speeding
  • Operating a vehicle in an unsafe manner
  • Driving while impaired, intoxicated or distracted
  • Acts of road rage

First-time offenders are normally charged with a fine that can be as high as $1,000, while second-time offenders can have to pay as much as $1,500. Whenever reckless driving results in serious bodily harm or the death of another, the charge increases to felony reckless driving, which is considered a Category B felony. Felony reckless driving can carry a sentence of up to six years in prison, and a fine of up to $5,000.

Reckless driving penalties can double if the offense occurred in a work zone or resulted from a speeding contest. This is true regardless of whether or not it is a misdemeanor or felony charge.

Proving reckless driving charges is often difficult for the prosecution to do, since there are rarely any witnesses to these events. When the state of Nevada is unable to prove these charges beyond a reasonable doubt, district attorneys may have no other option than to drop or reduce the charges.Contact the Potter Law Firm at 702-997-1774 to find out more.

Las Vegas, NV 89102-2314
1125 Shadow Lane Suite 100

Phone: 702-997-1774
Fax: 702-385-9081