Nevada courts take domestic violence cases seriously. If you’ve been charged under NRS 200.485 for battery or domestic violence, then you need an experienced Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer. Contact the defense attorneys at the Potter Law Offices as soon as possible.
In Nevada, domestic violence is classified as battery among members of a family, spouses, dating couples or cohabitants. Battery includes a broad number of actions that may be striking, pushing, strangling, poisoning or using any other kind of illegal physical force.
In some cases, first and second domestic violence offenses are considered misdemeanors. This is only if no deadly weapons are used and if there was no significant bodily injury to the victim. A first offense does not automatically mean being sentenced to serve time in jail. However, it’s not unusual to spend between 10 days and six months in jail for a second offense. Many defendants are also sentenced to many hours of community service and are ordered to attend weekly counseling for as long as one year.
Third offenses bring tougher penalties that may include between one and five years in prison as well as $10,000 in fines. Add a deadly weapon into the mix, and the consequences can be up to 15 years in prison.