Misdemeanor Charges in Las Vegas

Nevada state law breaks up criminal offenses into three categories. These are misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors are the least serious offenses. Accordingly, they also carry the lightest punishments. This does not mean that being charged with a misdemeanor isn’t a serious matter. It’s still crucial for defendants in these cases to seek experienced legal counsel in the form of a Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer.

Sometimes, misdemeanor convictions can have consequences that a first-time defendant just doesn’t expect. A criminal record, even one that consists of a single misdemeanor conviction, can mean the difference between getting hired and having to continue a long and exhausting job search. Other people and institutions may also be able to check your background to find your criminal record, resulting in the loss of the ability to rent an apartment or attend the college of your choice.

Misdemeanors in Nevada typically carry punishments that include up to six months in jail and a fine of no more than $1,000. Just because you are charged with a misdemeanor in Las Vegas does not mean that you will serve six months in the Clark County Jail and pay a $1,000 fine. In fact, if this is a first or second offense, there is a solid possibility that you may avoid jail time entirely. That’s especially true when you have a capable Las Vegas misdemeanor offense attorney working for you.

Las Vegas misdemeanor charges frequently include assault and battery, battery domestic violence, first-offense driving under the influence, petty theft, prostitution and trespassing. People who vandalize property, are accused of shoplifting or resist arrest may also be charged with a misdemeanor. A conviction for any of these crimes can negatively impact your life for years to come.

It is imperative that you hire a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney as soon as possible after being charged with a misdemeanor. With the services of experienced legal counsel, your Nevada misdemeanor charges could be dropped. Even if dismissing the charges isn’t possible, your attorney may be able to negotiate a shorter jail term or an alternative that keeps you completely out of jail. Contact a Nevada misdemeanor lawyer today.