If you get arrested for arson under NRS 205.010, then it’s imperative that you hire a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney to fight for you. Felony arson charges in Nevada carry serious consequences. Because the prosecutor is likely to seek maximum penalties, working with a Las Vegas arson attorney is the only way to go.
Most of the time, when someone is accused of arson in Nevada, it means that law enforcement or other officials believe that a blaze was intentionally set with the object of collecting on insurance. This means that most arson cases involve someone being accused of burning their own home, business, land or vehicle with the hope that they will receive compensation from their insurer.
Of course, other arson cases in Nevada are different. Police may suspect that a fire was deliberately set to get back at a former spouse or business partner. Other people may be accused of setting a fire as an act of protest. Regardless of the suspected motivation, arson charges are serious and should be treated with the utmost care.
State law defines four degrees of arson, with the fourth degree crimes being considered the least serious. Still, a conviction at this level can mean as much as four years in prison and a $5,000 fine. The most serious arson crimes are categorized in the first degree. Someone convicted of this crime may spend as long as 15 years in prison and have to pay fines of as much as $15,000.
Fortunately, Nevada criminal lawyers have several possible defense strategies. They might argue that the blaze was actually just an unfortunate accident, rather than being deliberately set. There also may be a general lack of evidence to support the prosecution’s case.
If you have been accused of arson in Nevada, then you need to speak with a Las Vegas criminal lawyer today.