Many people are relieved to find that a first-time DUI is often charged as a misdemeanor. However, it’s best not to feel too relieved. A first DUI misdemeanor comes with tough consequences. In fact, being charged under NRS 404C.110 for the first time sometimes signals the beginning of a long entanglement with the courts.
A person who is convicted of a first-time DUI in Nevada is looking at a string of penalties. This includes a sentence of up to six months in jail.
Fortunately, the court normally chooses a suspended jail sentence, which means that the defendant won’t serve any time unless they violate any order of the court. The defendant will certainly have to pay fines and court costs. These often add up to $600 and may go as high as $1,000. The driver is usually ordered to complete Nevada DUI school and to attend a Nevada Victim Impact Panel. Moreover, it’s typical for the judge to order the defendant to stay out of trouble. Any subsequent arrests or citations may mean facing more significant penalties.
If you are being charged with a DUI for the first time in Las Vegas, then you need the criminal defense team at the Potter Law Offices to represent you in court.