Nevada Shoplifting Penalties
Individuals accused of shoplifting goods worth less than $650 may be charged with a misdemeanor that is punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and as many as six months in jail. They may also be required to pay restitution to the store owner.
Someone accused of stealing items worth more than $650 but less than $3,500 may find themselves charged with a Category C felony. A potential prison term could be as long as five years. Fines may add up to an amount close to $10,000, and the accused may have to make restitution.
For more expensive goods, the penalties only get stiffer. Ten years in prison, $10,000 fines and restitution make being accused of this crime particularly unappealing.
Even after fines are paid, jail terms are served and restitution is made, a history of shoplifting seems to follow people. Some people have been passed up for employment based on a shoplifting conviction. Seek out a Nevada criminal defense attorney to protect your rights when you’ve been accused of shoplifting.