(702) 997-1774

Las Vegas Drug Possession Charges

iStock_000009178687XSmallNevada has High Penalties for Drug Possession

Drugs and crime feed upon each other; the more drugs, the more crime results to pay for those drugs. The type of drug, from marijuana to meth creates a craving for more, so more crime has to be committed to support the habit.

If you have been charged with a drug offense in Nevada, an experienced criminal defense lawyer like the Potter Defense Firm is needed to lead the defense.

If the drug confiscated is GHB, heroin, LSD, cocaine or ecstasy, it is classified as a Schedule I or II drug and is found in the Nevada statutes NRS 453. Here are the penalties for drug possession.

1. First conviction would be a category D felony, which would include one to four years in prison and fines up to $5,000 depending on the amount and the intent to sell.
2. A second conviction of possession of a controlled substance with the intent to sell can result in a category C felony. This is punishable by one to five years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
3. A third conviction of drug possession for sale results in a category B felony punishable by three to fifteen years in prison and a fine up to $20,000.

If arrested with Schedule III, IV or V drugs, such as codeine, Xanax, Valium or cough suppressant there are equally serious punishments.

• A first or second conviction for possession of a controlled substance with intent to sell can result in a category D felony, which is punishable by 1 to 4 years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000.
• A third or subsequent conviction for drug possession with intent to distribute can result in a category C felony, which is punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000