Nevada law is strict when it comes to hit and runs. It is illegal for anyone to leave the scene of an accident, even if they were not at fault, until they have at least exchanged information with the other driver. If you have been charged with a hit and run in Las Vegas, then you need to understand the potential penalties. Even more importantly, you’ll need to hire an experienced Nevada criminal defense attorney.
Under NRS 484E.030, it is a crime for anyone to leave the scene of an accident without providing the VIN of the car involved in the accident in addition to the driver’s name and address. If requested, the parties are also required to share their driver’s licenses. If police are called to the scene, then they have the right to collect the same information.
A hit and run may be charged at either a misdemeanor or felony level. If the accident results in property damage alone, then it is typically charged as a misdemeanor hit and run. However, any hit and run accident that results in a bodily injury or death will usually be charged as a Category B felony.
Misdemeanor hit and run penalties in Las Vegas are quite serious. A person who is convicted of this crime may be sentenced to as many as six months in jail and be ordered to pay a fine of not more than $1,000. Moreover, six demerit points will be added to the driver’s license.
The penalties for a Las Vegas felony hit and run are considerably more severe. Depending upon how extensive the injuries were, the sentence could be anywhere from two to 20 years in a state prison. The fines range from $2,000 to $5,000. Suspension or revocation of the driver’s license is all but guaranteed.
Whether a defendant is charged with simple hit and run or is facing those charges in addition to charges such as reckless driving or vehicular homicide, it is essential to hire a capable Nevada criminal defense attorney. That’s especially true when the severe penalties for hit and run in Las Vegas are taken into account.