People tend to think that most drunk driving charges in Nevada are misdemeanors. While this is true in many cases, there are circumstances in which a DUI is charged as a felony. Anyone who is arrested on suspicion of DUI in Las Vegas may be automatically charged with a felony if they already have two DUI convictions, already have a felony DUI conviction or caused death or injury to someone else while driving under the influence. A Nevada DUI felony is an extremely serious charge. Hiring an attorney to represent you in court is crucial for the sake of your freedom and your future.
When someone is convicted of a third DUI in Nevada, they may expect a prison term of between one and six years along with fines of between $2,000 and $5,000. They also are subject to suspension or revocation of their driving privileges, and they are required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their car. The consequences are more severe for a second DUI conviction, as they include a prison term of between two and 15 years. This is regardless of the fact that the current charges constitute a relatively minor incident in which no one was hurt. Simply being caught driving under the influence is enough to trigger felony charges after having already been convicted of felony DUI in Nevada.
It’s possible for people who are charged with hurting or killing someone while driving under the influence to receive an even longer sentence. A prison term of between two and 20 years is a possibility under the law. However, a defendant who caused a death and has three prior DUI convictions may be charged at a higher felony level that can carry a 25-year or lifetime prison sentence.
A Nevada felony DUI is enormously serious. Speak with a Las Vegas DUI defense lawyer today.