Las Vegas is liberal in the sale of alcohol, but they also adheres to the strict penalties of a DUI arrest. Here are the penalties for DUIs.
1. First offense: misdemeanor
Up to 6 months in jail, Nevada DUI school, fines up to $1,000 plus court costs, drug abuse treatment program, 90 days suspended driver’s license, and if the BAC was .18 or more, a Interlock Device must be added to the vehicle for 12 months to 36 months.
2. Second offense: misdemeanor
Mandatory 10 days to 6 months in jail, fines up to $1,100, alcohol/drug dependency evaluation and program, DUI court, one year suspended driver’s license, Interlock device added to the vehicle for 12 months to 36 months.
3. Third Offense: category B felony
Held in Nevada prison for one to six years, fines from $2,000 to $5,000, Victim Impact Panel, Interlock device added to the vehicle for 12 months to 36 months, three years driver’s license suspension and an alcohol and drug evaluation and program.
If a car accident occurred during this DUI that caused injury or death, the defendant will face more serious consequences, so if you has recently been charged with a DUI, our DUI lawyers can help. Experienced counsel can help to avoid the severe consequences.