A knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense lawyer can strategically construct a case for their client to achieve the best outcome. Call Potter Criminal Defense at 702-997-1774 for a free consultation. Here are the three convictions.
• Misdemeanor – up to six months in jail or a fine up to $1,000 or both.
• Gross Misdemeanor – punishable up to one year in jail or a fine up to $2,000 or both.
• Felony – punishable for over one year incarceration and a fine. The penalties are different for each of the five categories according to Nevada Law.
Category A – in Nevada, typically first-degree/second-degree murder, first-degree kidnapping, sexual assault and battery. Penalties are the death penalty or life in prison with/without parole.
Category B – Include the first offense of possession of child pornography, assault with a deadly weapon and battery. Up to 8-20 years and some convictions include fines.
Category C – includes buying and/or receiving stolen goods , over $250 but less than $2,500, violating a restraining order, and stalking using the internet or other technical devise. Penalties are 2-5 years and fines up to $10,000
Category D – are involuntary manslaughter, third-degree arson and manslaughter. The maximum range is 19 months – 4 years and a fine up to $5,000.
Category E – gang recruitment and soliciting prostitutionwith a child. The sentence is 1-4 years with probation, except in certain cases.